Two Stacks Molly’s bar

Over the life span of Irish whiskey it’s been common for bars and shops to have their own whiskey with their own name on the bottle. Two Stacks have been involved in a quite a few releases like that. What I do like about the Two Stacks way though is that the brand logo and bottle style are still present which doesn’t dilute the brand name but also show’s a connection to the bar and pub life which is so integral in Irish culture.

This particular single malt from Great Northern distillery was initially matured in ex-bourbon casks and finished in cherry brandy casks. The purpose of the release was to celebrate the 2oord anniversary of Molly’s bar in Warrenpoint which is pretty close to Two Stacks HQ. I must say that I normally slag off bottlings at 43 percent ABV but this is a bit different as it’s a feckin big drinker with lots of flavours coming through.

Notes

Fizzy notes on the nose with red apple and sweet malt. It’s like a soda bottle in a sense. On the palate there’s fizzy cola bottles that are truly amazing, some white fruits and plums. The finish clings to the palate for a long time.

It mays sound like a weak review as I’ve not been able to conjure up some obscure flavours and notes like Brexit tears, dung beetle and an old wooden ship from the American war of independence. It’s very well balance though and very, very agreeable. I can actually say that I think that people in general should get a bottle. No doubt. Actually, if one of the lads read this, set aside a new bottle for me in the HQ until I buy from you the next time! There’s some left at the website still.

Other stuff

Rumours say that the Poitin Now event will return to Dublin in late November. I have only had the rumour from a person close to management so nothing final yet but I’ll keep you informed. I so hope that I will see many of you there!

Also, if you’re in Gdansk august 5th to 8th this year, hit me up and we shall share some drinks!

Sláinte!

Author: Robert

Operations developer at the Swedish Social Insurance Agency

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started