Spirit of the White Hag

Backstory on why I’m currently in possession of this White Hag dram is pretty straightforward. I saw crazy influencer lad Michael Cowman having a sample on Instagram and was intrigued. The concept of sour beer cask maturation intrigued me to say the least. To top that off, I sampled a big load in Cork during my last Ireland trip.

Anyways. White Hag normally makes beer. Damn good beer. Lots of damn good beer comes from Ireland and you know what, not all is Guinness. I’ve ordered cans from White Hag here to Sweden so I’m versed in the quality. Pair that with Great Northern single malt, mature in Púca sour beer casks and bottle at 46 percent ABV and you have a nice, complex yet easy drop.

Notes

On the nose I get citrus, light barley and wine gum candy. It’s like a candy explosion!

The palate offers more of the same and the wine gum candy, white fruit style, intensifies.

The finish is medium long and sweet slash a bit sour if that makes any sense?

My final verdict is that this needs to be made again and I need it again. My bottle is almost already done for. Also, I need a CS version in my cabinet quick as hell!

Get, get, get

Other stuff

First. Two Stacks just had a listing on one of the bigger Tax free markets and that is the Viking and Tallink Silja boats. Cream in a can and Dram in a can can (wtf) now be bought. Where’s my commission lads for being lovely and selling cans for fans?

I was intending on staying away from socials a bit as my family has been struck with a loss. I’ve had trouble dealing with it and the writing and also support from people in the whiskey world has been, well, enough to keep me here.

The friends I’ve found here, the Two stacks lads for example and Crazy Kit/Paul from the north and BWW Paul .. gents. Poitin punters Johno and Masho.. I’m grateful to exist in your presence.

Sláinte mother. Rest easy.

Author: Robert

Operations developer at the Swedish Social Insurance Agency

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started